Key Scholarships awarded to Coastal Carolina students

Each student receives $1,000 toward first-year tuition.   File photo

Two students -- one from North Myrtle Beach High School and one from  Aynor High School, have won $1,000 scholarships from Carolina Trust Federal Credit Union and Horry Telephone Cooperative Inc..

The 2017 Key Scholarship award winners are Cameron Parker from North Myrtle Beach High School and Brittany Hartley from Aynor High. Both plan to attend Coastal Carolina University. Carson will major in English and communications while Hartley will major in marine science.

This is the 11th year the credit union and HTC have offered scholarships. Area high-school seniors planning to attend Coastal Carolina University or Francis Marion University are eligible for funds.

“These exceptional students have juggled academics, part-time jobs and extracurricular or volunteer activities successfully,” HTC Senior Marketing Coordinator Nicole Hyman said. 

Winners were chosen based on academics, household income and school or community involvement. Each receives $1,000 toward first-year tuition. Scholarships are renewable for three more years for $500 each year as long as students maintain a 3.0 GPA and stay enrolled full time. 

“These awards are well deserved, and we’re proud of all the applicants who are planning to continue their education in an effort to achieve personal and professional goals,” Carolina Trust Marketing Director Amanda Marker said. 

Want to get notified whenever we write about Coastal Carolina University ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Coastal Carolina University, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Coastal Carolina University

More News

Metro Business Network