11 new schools added to TransformSC network

TransformSC welcomes 11 new schools to the program.

Eleven schools recently joined the TransformSC network.

TransformSC is an education initiative spearheaded by the South Carolina Council on Competitiveness. With contributions from business leaders, educators, students, parents and lawmakers, the program aims to help South Carolina'a high school students be well-versed in careers, college and citizenship matters by the time they graduate.

With the addition of Sandhills Middle School, Westwood High School, Spring Valley High School, Blythewood High School, Darlington High School, Meadow Glen Middle School, Ridge View High School, Richland Northeast High School, Frances Mack Intermediate School, Sandhill Elementary School and Swansea High School, 51 schools from 21 districts are now part of the TransformSC network.

"More and more schools are stepping up to the plate to lead innovation in our classrooms," Mike Brenan, co-chair of TransformSC, said.

TransformSC co-chair Pamela Lackey said the growth of the program "shows that our mission of better preparing students for success in careers and college is resonating with educators across the state."

Acceptance into the TransformSC network is based on a three-year innovation plan that is evaluated by TransformSC team chairs and staff. The program places emphasis on project-based learning, blended learning, continuous assessment and competency-based progression.

Want to get notified whenever we write about TransformSC ?

Sign-up Next time we write about TransformSC, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story


More News

Metro Business Network